Monday, 2 September 2013

Congratulations to the Kirstenbosch Biennale 2013 Award and Medal Winners!

Congratulations to all the medal winners announced at the opening of the Kirstenbosch Biennale on Thursday evening.

Congratulations also to Fay Anderson who was awarded the Kirstenbosch Biennale Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition of the tremendous contribution she has made to South African botany and bringing awareness to our unique flora over the last 50 years. Quite an inspiration! Fay is also an Honorary Life Member of BAASA.

The medal winners are:
GOLD - Margaret de Villiers, Lynda de Wet, Wilna Eloff, Jenny Hyde-Johnston, Janet Snyman.
SILVER - Gillian Condy, Carol Reddick, Daleen Roodt.
BRONZE - Julie Ah-Fa, Kath Baker, Karen Comins, Alice Dean, Leigh-Ann Gale, Solly Gutman, Elbe Joubert, Willie Schlechter, Lisa Strachan.

Judging criteria:
The panel of judges considered work in all two-dimensional media, including watercolour, gouache, oil, acrylic, tempera, collage, original graphic works in pen, pencil, etching, engraving, linocuts, silkscreen and woodcut.
All four artworks submitted were considered as a whole, not just the “best” of the group. The works, however, needed to demonstrate a high level of competence in:
  • Botanical accuracy
  • Composition
  • Painting, drafting, technical execution
  • Creating an exhibit that has unity and aesthetic appeal (framing is important here)
  • Making a unique contribution to botanical art.
The catalogue can be downloaded from here, but please note that it is a 3.8Mb file.

The theme for the next Kirstenbosch Biennale in 2015 was announced and is 'Trees of Africa and Neighbouring Islands', so start painting now!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Comments will only be posted after moderation by the blog administrator.